See The Nigerians That Moved The Motion For Nigeria Independence From 1921-1960

Chief Remi Fani-Kayode (1921-1995) was the man who successfully moved the motion for Independence on August 2, 1958.

Anthony Enahoro moved the motion in 1953 which proposed Nigeria’s independence in 1956 but was rejected by Parliament and it therefore failed.

FG Declared Thursday as a Public Holiday To Mark The 60th Independence Day

It also resulted in a walk-out by the northern parliamentarians who were of the view that Nigeria was not yet ready for independence.

The tensions and acrimony that came from all these resulted in the infamous Kano riots of 1953.

Wow! See The N17 Million Naira IVM G40 Ride For BBNaija2020 Winner

In 1957, Samuel Ladoke Akintola moved a second motion for independence in 1959 and it was passed by the Federal House but the British authorities refused to assent to it and, consequently, it failed.

In 1958, Remi Fani-Kayode moved the third motion for Nigeria’s independence in the Federal Parliament and asked that Nigeria should be given her independence on April 2, 1960.

This is How To Register For FG N75 Billion MSME Survival Funds

The motion was not only passed by Parliament but it was also accepted by the British and was therefore successful.

However, in 1959, the British Colonial authorities needed a few months to put everything in place before leaving Nigeria and Prime Minister Tafawa Balewa moved a motion for a slight amendment to be made to the original 1958 motion that had been passed and approved to the effect that the date of independence should be shifted from April 2, 1960, to October 1, 1960.

Prof. Wole Soyinka’s Tribute to Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu

Tafawa Balewa’s motion for the amendment was seconded by Chief Raymond Njoku, the Minister of Transport, and it was agreed to by the British. That is how this date (October 1, 1960) has become Nigeria’s Independence Day for the past 59 years.

Happy Independence Day to all Nigerians

%d bloggers like this: